FAS, á Hillingatanga 2, 360 Sandavágur, Faroe Islands

Tel + 298 351 500 – After Hours On-Call + 298 333 198

SVITZER HYMER is “Ship of the Year” 2023 in FAS

This marks the second consecutive year that Svitzer Hymer has won the award. In second place, we find SVITZER TYR, and in third place, M/V SJOBORG. This is the third consecutive year that Sjóborg has been in the top three.

Each year, the FMA rewards a ship under the Faroese flag with the honor of "Ship of the Year", acknowledging the high demands from authorities, cargo owners, officers, and crew, as well as the rigorous surveillance by port state controls on merchant ships. It is of great importance to the FMA that ships in FAS are operated safely and responsibly, as their performance has a vital effect on the Faroese flag and its position on the Paris MoU White list of flag performance.

The best performing ship in FAS is identified based on the following criteria:

The PSC performance over the last 3-year period, where the ship's number of zero-inspections are rewarded as follows:

  • Expanded – 3 points
  • MDI – 2 points
  • Initial – 1 point

Ships over 500GT that sail in Paris MoU areas but have not been inspected in Paris MoU areas are rewarded with 3 points annually. However, starting next year, these ships will be awarded 1 point, the same as for an initial survey. If two or more ships have the same score in the above, the lack of remarks and items in class records or other records will play a deciding role.

This marks the 10th consecutive year that the FMA has awarded this honor. Previous winners include Svitzer Hymer in 2022, Hav Nes in 2021, Vinga Safir in 2019, Fure Ferder in 2018, Fure Nord in 2017 and 2016, Northern Ocean in 2015, Norrøna in 2014, and Nordjarl in 2013.

Appreciation and congratulations from the FMA to the crew, ship owners, and operators!